Paperback Swap

As an author, I don’t get royalties for used book sales.  For that reason, many authors think I’m crazy or disloyal to promote used book stores.  But I feel like it’s part of the game of exposure, getting your name out to as many readers as possible.  I’ve been known to try unfamiliar authors through my used book store or library myself.  But if I like them or if I’m attending a book signing, I do purchase the book new.  This is how a fan can truly show their support.  The sale of new novels is the only way that publishing houses have to gauge how popular an author is.  They pay that author royalties based on sales and use those figures to determine how many copies of the next book to print, where to focus their sales efforts and even whether or not to publish another book by that author!

So please, please support your favorite authors by buying their books new from your book store whenever you can.

If you’d like to add to your reading pile or share your own pile, here’s a site I’ve found that is super!  www.paperbackswap.com.  It’s a database of thousands of readers just like you with overflowing shelves.  You get points for books you send others then use those points to get books from others.  Not just paperbacks, but hardbacks and texts, fiction and non-fiction.  I’ve had lots of fun with this site.

Trade Books for Free - PaperBack Swap.

Now if you DO sign up… I’d love for you to credits for the referral so use the link above! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Paperback Swap

  1. I think this would be a great site for me to join but I would also like to give you credit for referring me. Please email me and let me know who I am crediting. I will hold off for a few days to give you a chance to respond back to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

