The Business of Writing

As creative people most of us don’t much like thinking of business. But we must.  We want to be fairly recompensed for our work and we want to protect  our intellectual works. Yet how many of us have thought of writing a will?  For our writing?

An elderly woman I mentored who is working on her autobiography has told me that her family has been informed that if anything happens to her, I’m to take charge of her writing.  I haven’t chosen anyone myself but it does sometimes bother me to think what my family will do with my writing after I’m gone. I know they don’t understand  how the publishing world works. I don’t know if they’ll have a clue as to what from my desk (and closet) needs to be tossed and what should be saved.

Well here’s an author who has some good suggestions about what to do.

http://www.neilgaiman.com/journal/2006/10/important-and-pass-it-on.html

Important. And pass it on…

John M. Ford was pretty much the smartest writer I knew. Mostly. He did one thing that was less than smart, though: he knew he wasn’t in the best of health, but he still didn’t leave a proper will, and so didn’t, in death, dispose of his literary estate in the way that he intended to while he was alive, which has caused grief and concern to the people who were closest to him.”

2 thoughts on “The Business of Writing

Leave a Reply

