History was Made

November 5, 2008

What a day! A day in history. One of the DJ’s on the radio said this morning, when you as a black man or black woman walk into a room full of white people, you can hold up your head because this will never again be a white man’s country that just tolerates you being here. I’m so proud of Barack Obama. He said this is a country where out of many are one. A new age begins. This country can finally put its shameful dark past behind it. We have finally proved that this is a country that can reinvent itself for the better.

 I’m so proud of Barack Obama as a black man but also of this country for living up to its potential. This country has proved that it is indeed a country of the people, by the people, and for the people. This is so incredible that I’m here to witness history. I bought 10 different newspapers today. I took them to my grandsons’ house and showed it to them. I told them to always, always remember this day. The President of the United States, the most powerful nation in the world, is a man of color. Like them.

I keep smiling. Every now and then I burst out laughing and sometimes tears fall from my eyes. It is a beautiful day. The skies are gray, the rain is drizzling but this is a beautiful day.

I was in Dunkin’ Donuts this morning. It was crowded and I was at the end of the line . As the man at the front of the line wearing a tie and dress shirt walked out ,he paused beside me and whispered “congratulations.” I hugged him. I hugged him and I was grinning and I hugged him tight. Not just a friendly hug. An exuberant hug. I immediately apologized but that was my first reaction. He just smiled as he went to his car and he waved as he got into his car. He’ll probably be telling people about that all day. The crazy black woman who hugged him. Today November 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

