Discovery

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” ~-Marcel Proust

I've always longed to travel and explore. For a while I did it. When I lived overseas with my military husband, I took day trips to all kinds of interesting places. I took car trips to small towns to Volksmarch. When I was a young single parent, I traveled back and forth to DC to visit friends and relatives, relax. Then things began to change. One thing after another got in the way. I had more young children, long after that first child had become fairly independent. Money was tight. Health problems.
Still there have been a few trips. I spent a weekend in a tourist city of Gatlinburg, TN with my sister and aunt. I've been to a couple of writers conferences in places that excited me.
But I still long for more travel. Now that my baby daughter has graduated from high school. I promise myself that I will do more traveling.
In the quote above, Proust talks about seeing with new eyes. That's true too. You can walk around your own town, your own neighborhood, and see things you've never done before. So I'm going to promise myself to do that too.

places you'll go

Leave a Reply

